Why My Mom is the Coolest Mom in the World

So I’ve been hanging out with a lot of religious people in the last couple months.  A lot of you guys probably know that.  If you read this blog, most likely you *are* one of those religious people.  You weirdos.

Which is why, in the last couple weeks or so, one of my mom’s favorite things to say when I talk to her is, “I’m glad you’ve got such good friends, it’s just a shame they’re religious.”  It’s an interesting sentiment.  But it doesn’t mean what you guys probably think it means.  Like the title says, my mom is the coolest mom in the world.  Why?  Lots of reasons, but here’s one.

When I was in high school at one point, I asked her how she’d feel if I told her I was gay.  Her response was something along the lines of “I wouldn’t understand it, and I’d be concerned for you for the effect it’ll have on your life and how people treat you, but I’d support you.”  Which is a very “mom” thing to say.  I don’t think that’s a particularly unique answer, but it’s the answer of a good parent.  That’s not why she’s the coolest mom in the world.

A little while ago one of those “it’s a shame they’re religious” conversations happened, and it lead into a conversation about whether I’d ever become religious myself.  Which is complicated and interesting and a subject for possibly another post.  The subject of this post, however, is the point in which my mom said something to the effect of “if you do choose to become religious, I wouldn’t understand it, and I’d be concerned for you for the effect it’ll have on your life and how people treat you, but I’d support you.”

That’s right.  My mom would treat me being religious pretty much the same way as she would treat me being gay.  I don’t think there are all that many people in the world with parents who have such similar attitudes for such disparate things.

This entry was posted in Fact. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why My Mom is the Coolest Mom in the World

  1. Tamz says:

    Hey, that was pretty much the way my parents reacted when I stopped being religious back in the day.
    Although it’s possible they held on to the unlikely (at the time) possibility that I would go back to being religious at some point. And hey, look what’s happened :-)

  2. Carlos says:

    My parents had a tendency to be both supportive and somewhat disturbing… like that time I told my father I wanted to go skydiving. His response? “Have fun! Don’t worry about the parachute opening though, because even if you make it to the ground alive, I’ll kill you.”

Leave a Reply

