Webcomics: Roomies!/It’s Walky!, part 1

I’ll get to a Part 2 for Angel Moxie, but I’m already about halfway through the archives for the next comic on my list, which is technically a five-comic multiverse, two comics of which are currently running, and one comic of which is mostly behind a pay barrier.

So this is about the remaining two comics: Roomies! and It’s Walky!  Links are to the first pages of the respective comics.  David Willis first started developing the universe that these stories take place in, as I understand it, when he was eight years old.  Roomies! was a comic about college life that he drew for his college newspaper, and then he slowly started adding elements of older stories he’d thought up and taking things in a more sci-fi direction, until after three years the pretense was removed entirely and Willis simply changed the title of the comic.

I was going to start summarizing some of the more important plot elements of the story, going over some of the more interesting characters, but that’s not really the way I should tell this story.  The way I need to tell this story is by telling you how I came to read these two comics.

Let’ go way back to the Spring of 2005, and talk about something that has nothing to do with webcomics for a moment: Bob Dylan.

My high school musical tastes were pretty much dominated by Billy Joel, the Beatles, and a smattering of Simon and Garfunkel.  I wanted to expand my tastes, but I didn’t like listening to radio, so I went and bought CDs from artists I’d heard about and wanted to learn more.  One day roaming through Best Buy attracted me to a boxed set of Dylan albums: Blonde on Blonde, Blood on the Tracks, and Time out of Mind.

Now, the way I liked to listen to music was to learn the whole album.  I did this by listening to it, almost to the exclusion of all other music, for at least a few days at a time, and sometimes up to a month.  And so I started, one by one, with these three discs.  For two weeks, Blonde on Blonde was in the CD player of my car, and was playing whenever I drove.

Until, of course, the accident.

The details of my car accident aren’t too important, but what is important is that A) I didn’t get Blonde on Blonde out of the player, B) that I got the day off of work, and C) I really needed something to lift my spirits, because car accidents ain’t fun.

An online buddy of mine (incidentally, a guy from the Angel Moxie forums) had suggested a comic that was just ending at the time called It’s Walky!, so with a lot of free time on my hands, I plopped down at my desk, put Blood on the Tracks into my computer, and spent a full weekend reading through those archives.

And that’s how I figured out that Blood on the Tracks, particularly in the later parts, is an incredibly moving soundtrack for this comic.

More talk about the actual content to come later.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

