New Year

Facebook is full of New Years posts, full of all different kinds of perspectives. This year was filled with a lot of good and a lot of bad for everyone, though relative proportions may vary from person to person. And different people are choosing to emphasize one or the other side of that spectrum based on where they sit now, or where they hope to sit. Or some even choose to ignore both and focus only on the present, or even the future.

And for my part, while I feel the need to reflect, I hate myself a little for it. It’s such a cliche. But if we’re reflecting anyway, isn’t this the year I asked everyone to post Monty Python quotes on my wall instead of “Happy Birthday”? That’s who I was this year, throughout everything that happened. And that’s who I was the year before. And that’s who I was for as long as I can remember, and most likely who I will be moving forward for however long I keep moving forward.

And everything else? It’s simply that: everything else. Things will continue to happen. Good things, bad things, the planned and the unexpected. And what I’m allowed to do with that is figure out where the cracks are in the everything else that I can fit myself into, just like I’ve always done.

So will next year be a good year? Yes. And will it be a bad year? Yes to that, too. But so long as it’s *my* year, so long as whatever comes, good or bad, I continue to deal with it in my own way, on my own terms, I can’t have any regrets.  I’m not going to try to change myself or the world just because there’s a new number at the end of the date.  I’ll do it because that’s what I want to see happen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

